CEM Researchers Awarded NSF iSuperSeed2

Ohio State researchers have been awarded a prestigious iSuperSeed2 award to explore new materials for the future of quantum information systems by the National Science Foundation (NSF). The iSuperSeed2 grant, awarded as a supplement to the Center for Emergent Materials (CEM) at Ohio State, an NSF Materials Research in Science and Engineering Centers (MRSEC), was the single award granted in the area of quantum information.

Professors Daniel Gauthier, Jay Gupta, Ezekiel Johnston-Halperin, and Roland Kawakami in the Department of Physics are collaborating with Prof. Michael Flatté at the University of Iowa on the project, bringing together researchers with expertise in 2D materials (IRG-2: Gupta, Kawakami), spin and magnetism (IRG-3: Flatté, Johnston-Halperin), and quantum measurement (Gauthier). In addition, collaborations outside the iSuperSeed2 team include recent Discovery Theme hires Profs. Chun Ning “Jeanie” Lau (Physics) and Marc Bockrath (Physics).

The program focuses on using the weak interactions between mechanically stacked materials, known as van der Waals bonds, to develop a universal approach to quantum transduction (the transfer of quantum information between two different materials). This van der Waals bonding is commonly found in 2D materials such as graphene and hexagonal boron nitride (hBN), leading to the creating of “van der Waals heterostructures” where single to few layers of 2D crystal can be mechanically stacked to fine tune layer-to-layer coupling.

As a result, van der Waals bonds allow for a “Goldilocks” level of interaction between two materials, where the quantum interactions are neither too weak nor too strong, and are present in materials ranging from insulators, to conductors, to magnets, to superconductors. Ohio State researchers plan to exploit this flexibility to explore a wide variety of materials for applications in future quantum-based technologies.

Lau Honored with APS Fellowship

The APS Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise, including outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.

This year, Prof. Jeanie Lau was selected as an APS Fellow in Materials Physics. Congratulations!

See the full list of Fellows here

2017 Materials Research Seed Grant Program Awards Announced

We are pleased to announce that after a thorough internal and external review process, awards have been made to fund exceptionally promising, innovative materials research on campus through the 2017 OSU Materials Research Seed Grant Program.

The area targeted for 2017 was PROTO-IRGs. Congratulations to:

  • Jinwoo Hwang, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, “Structure, Defects, and Emergent Properties at Magnetic Oxide Interfaces.”
  • Mohit Randeria, Department of Physics, “Spin Textures in Chiral Magnetic Materials.”

read more…

Brillson Awarded 2017 Distinguished Scholar Award

The Distinguished Scholar Award, established in 1978, recognizes exceptional scholarly accomplishments by senior professors who have compiled a substantial body of research, as well as younger faculty members who have demonstrated great scholarly potential. CEM is proud to share that Prof. Len Brillson was one of six to receive the award in 2017.Distinguished Scholars receive an honorarium and a research grant. Congratulations Len!

Read the full announcement here.