Prof. Robert Baker Named Deputy Director of the Institute for Optical Science

Congratulations to Prof. Robert Baker on his appointment as Deputy Director of the Institute of Optical Science.

Robert has been a member of iOS since its inception in 2018 and is co-Director of the NSF NeXUS facility. Robert’s research interest utilizes ultrafast optical-XUV spectroscopy to study surface electron dynamics and interfacial charge transfer in order to control catalytic energy conversion processes.>

Robert joined the faculty at OSU in 2014. He received his B.S. from Brigham Young University. In 2012, he completed his Ph.D. at UC Berkeley in the group of Prof. Gabor Somorjai. He remained at Berkeley as a post-doctoral research associate in the group of Prof. Stephen Leone. At OSU, he has been awarded funding from the NSF, DOE and AFOSR. His distinctions include a DOE Early Career award an AFOSR Young Investigator award and the Camille Dreyfus Teacher Scholar award.

Visit the iOS website for webinar schedules and news items.

Stiner-Jones Completes ELATES Program

Congratulations to La’Tonia Stiner-Jones for completing the “Executive Leadership in Academic Technology Engineering and Sciences” program. The program is designed to prepare women faculty for executive leadership roles. The 11-month program includes a number of assignments, readings, and group projects. All participants were required to complete an Institutional Action Project of benefit to their college, department, and/or the university.

Baker Wins 2021 Emerging Leader in Atomic Spectroscopy Award

Spectroscopy has named Robert Baker, associate professor at The Ohio State University, the winner of the 2021 Emerging Leader in Atomic Spectroscopy Award. Awarded annually since 2017, it recognizes the achievements and aspirations of a talented young atomic spectroscopist, selected by an independent scientific committee.

“Robert Baker is a brilliant young scientist and embodies the values and qualities we look for when selecting the Emerging Leader in Atomic Spectroscopy Award winner,” said Mike Hennessy Jr., president and CEO of MJH Life Sciences, parent company of Spectroscopy®. “His extensive background in the fields of physical chemistry, surface science, catalysis and spectroscopy make him truly deserving of this noteworthy award.”

The award will be presented to Baker on Feb. 24 at the Spectroscopy® Virtual Symposium, ‘Atomic Spectroscopy in Practice,’ where he will give a plenary lecture.

Read the full press release here.

2018 OSU Materials Research Seed Grant Awards

We are pleased to announce that after a thorough internal and external review process, 4 Proto-IRG, 2 MTBG, and 3 EMRG  awards have been selected to fund exceptionally promising, innovative materials research on campus through the 2018 OSU Materials Research Seed Grant Program.

The OSU MRSGP provides internal research funding opportunities through three distinct Funding Tiers designed to achieve the greatest impact for seeding and advancing excellence in materials research of varying scopes.  It is jointly funded and managed by the Center for Emergent Materials (CEM), the Center for Exploration of Novel Complex Materials (ENCOMM), and the Institute for Materials Research (IMR).

2018 Proto-IRG Grants
Proto-IRG Grants ($80,000 each) form new Interdisciplinary Research Groups (IRGs) that could potentially be incorporated into the renewal proposal of Center for Emergent Materials, an NSF Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, in 2019.

  • Structure, Defects and Emergent Properties at Magnetic Interfaces
    Jinwoo Hwang, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Metamorphic Narrow Gap Antimonide Materials for Topological Insulators
    Sanjay Krishna, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Tunable Ferromagnetic and Antiferromagnetic Spintronics Based on Graphene Quantum Hall States
    Jeanie Lau, Department of Physics
  • Anionic Functional Materials
    Yiying Wu, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

2018 Multidisciplinary Team Building Grants
MTBG Grants ($60,000 each) support multidisciplinary materials research teams to compete effectively for federal block-funding opportunities

  • Sulfide-Based Lithium Superionic Conductors (LISICON) for All Solid-State Energy Storage Device
    Jung Hyun Kim, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • MOCVD Growth and Material Properties of Earth Abundant Semiconducting ZnSnN
    Hongping Zhao, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

2018 Exploratory Materials Research Grants
EMRG Grants ($40,000 each) enable nascent and innovative materials research to emerge to the point of being competitive for external funding

  • Mechanoelectric effects on bone mineralization as a stiffness modulator
    Hanna Cho, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Investigation of Boron-Based III-V Compound Semiconductors
    Tyler Grassman, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Establishing Computational and Experimental Frameworks to Elucidate Magnetoelastic Interactions in Smart Metamaterials
    Ryan Harne, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering