Route to Renewal: 2018 OSU Materials Research Seed Grant Program Request PROTO-IRG Proposals

The renewal process for CEM has begun and we are pleased to announce the 2018 OSU Materials Research Seed Grant Program (MRSGP) Request for Proposals, which is open to The Ohio State University materials community. The Center is seeking new teams to compete as part of the renewal proposal to NSF in the 2020-2026 cycle. The first step is nucleating seed teams in the OSU MRSGP. More information about CEM’s seed program and historical projects is available here, or contact CEM Director Chris Hammel with questions.

2018 Materials Research Seed Grant Program RFP
***LOI has been extended to January 15th, 2018 at 5pm***


  • Seed Grant Program Panel Discussion: Wednesday, November 15, 2017 (4:15 – 5:15 PM, room 4138 Physics Research Building)
  • MRSEC meeting to prepare for renewal, Wednesday, January 10, 2018 (4:00 – 5:00 PM, room 4138 Physics Research Building)
  • Letters of Intent: January 15th, 2018 at 5pm
  • Proto-IRG and MTBG Team Mandatory Presentations, 4:15-5:15 in PRB 4138
    • Feb. 14
      • Proto-IRG presentations
        Prof. Jessica Winter (Biomedical Engineering) “Close-Range Inter-nanoparticle Interactions Enabled Through Self-Assembly”
        Prof. Jinwoo Hwang (MSE) “Structure, Defects and Emergent Properties at Magnetic Interfaces”
    • Feb. 21
      • MTBG presentation
        Prof. Erin McKie (Management Sciences) “Reducing Energy Use with Real-Time Feedback”
      • Proto-IRG presentations
        Prof. Daniel Gauthier (Physics) “Developing point defects in materials for application in quantum information science”
        Prof. Yiying Wu (Chem and Biochem) “Anionic Functional Materials”
    • Feb. 28
      • MTBG presentations
        Prof. Jung Hyun Kim (MAE) “Sulfide-Based Lithium Superionic Conductors (LISICON) for All Solid-State Energy Storage Device”
        Prof. Rolando Valdes Aguilar (Physics) “Topological Properties of Magnons.”
        Prof. Randall Mathison (MAE) “Additively Manufactured Gas Turbine Engine”
    • March 14
      • MTBG presentation
        Prof. William Marras (Integrated Systems Engineering, Orthopaedics, Neurological Surgery, Physical Medicine & Rehab) “Additively Manufactured Spinal Implants”
        Prof. Hongping Zhao (ECE) “MOCVD Growth and Material Properties of Earth Abundant Semiconducting ZnSnN”
  • Proposals: March 19, 2018 at 5pm

More information on the seed program here.

Lau Honored with APS Fellowship

The APS Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise, including outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.

This year, Prof. Jeanie Lau was selected as an APS Fellow in Materials Physics. Congratulations!

See the full list of Fellows here